PrintRSSFacebook
Help Center

Go To Search
Voting & Elections
Overview
Municipal elections are held in even-numbered years in conjunction with the General Election. The terms of the following Chanhassen elected officials expire December 31, 2016:

  • Council member Bethany Tjornhom
  • Council member Jerry McDonald

Important 2016 Election Dates
Day Date Description
Tuesday March 1 Precinct Caucuses - Find your Caucus location HERE
Friday June 24 Absentee ballots available for the Primary Election. Apply online or vote in person at
Carver County Government Center OR Chanhassen Service Center
Tuesday July 19 Last day to pre-register to vote before the Primary Election (register at the polls after this date)
Tuesday August 2 Filing for City Council begins (at City Hall during regular business hours)
Monday August 8 Last day to vote Absentee for the Primary Election at 
Carver County Government Center OR Chanhassen Service Center (until 5:00 pm)

Tuesday August 9 State Primary Election (polls open 7:00 am to 8:00 pm)
Tuesday August 16 Filing for City Council ends at 5:00 pm at City Hall
Thursday August 18 Last day to withdraw filing application for City Council by 5:00 pm at City Hall
Friday September 23 Absentee ballots available for the General Election. Apply online or vote in person at
Carver County Government Center OR Chanhassen Service Center
Tuesday October 18 Last day to pre-register to vote in the General Election (register at the polls after this date)
Monday November 7 Last day to vote Absentee for the General Election at
Carver County Government Center OR Chanhassen Service Center (until 5:00 pm)
Tuesday November 8 General Election (polls open 7:00 am to 8:00 pm)

Related Resources