Click to Home
Help Center

Go To Search
City Council
 2015 City Council
     Dan Campion, Elise Ryan, Mayor Denny Laufenburger, Jerry McDonald, Bethany Tjornhom


The City of Chanhassen operates under the "Optional Plan B" form of government as authorized by Minnesota state statutes. Under this plan, the elected City Council consists of a mayor and four council members. Members are elected at-large and serve 4-year terms on a staggered schedule.  Elections are held in even-numbered years and coincide with the general election conducted in November.

The City Council is the legislative and policy-making body for the city. Their duties include:
  • Adopt and direct the enforcement of ordinances
  • Appoints commissions, advisory boards, and the City Manager
  • Guides development in accordance with the Comprehensive Plan
  • Manages the city’s financial operations by levying taxes, approving budgets, auditing expenditures, and borrowing money.

The City Council is dedicated to long-term planning and annually establishes Key Financial Strategies. These goals and strategies cover a broad spectrum and are items the Council feels need the most attention over the coming year. The Council also establishes Legislative Priorities to communicate with our legislators about issues and concerns that affect Chanhassen.

The City Manager appoints all other city staff.

  • 7:00 pm
  • Second and fourth Mondays of each month
  • Council Chambers at city hall

Agendas & Minutes
View current and past City Council agendas, minutes, and staff reports.

  • Denny Laufenburger, Mayor
  • Bethany Tjornhom
  • Jerry McDonald
  • Elise Ryan
  • Dan Campion

Contact Information

All City Council meetings are open to the public and are broadcast live on Cable Channel 8.

If you do not have Cable Channel 8 and would like to view a City Council or Planning Commission meeting, rebroadcasts can be viewed on the City's YouTube channel or you can request a copy on DVD. Contact Chelsea Petersen at (952) 227-1118 for more information.