According to Chapter 10 of the Chanhassen City Code, no person, except as otherwise provided in Minnesota Statute Chapter 340A, shall directly or indirectly deal in, sell, keep for sale or deliver any intoxicating liquor, 3.2 percent malt liquor, or wine as part of a commercial transaction without first having received a license to do so; nor shall any private club or public place, directly or indirectly, or upon any pretense or by any device, allow the consumption or display of intoxicating liquor or serve any liquid for the purpose of mixing with intoxicating liquor without first obtaining a license from the city.
|Granted only to hotels, bowling centers, clubs, restaurants, and exclusive liquor stores. A license shall be issued to clubs and congressionally chartered veterans' organizations if they have been in existence for at least three years and liquor sales will only be to members and bona fide guests. On-sale licenses will only be issued to exclusive liquor stores that were licensed on January 1, 2000.|
|Issued to an exclusive liquor store and shall permit off-sale of intoxicating liquor and 3.2 percent malt liquor.|
|On-Sale Beer & Wine|
|Issued, with the approval of the commissioner of public safety, only to restaurants having facilities for seating of at least 25 people at one time for the sale of wine not exceeding 24 percent alcohol by volume and for consumption on the licensed premises only in conjunction with the sale of food. The holder of a wine license who is also licensed to sell 3.2 percent malt liquor on-sale may also sell intoxicating malt liquors at on-sale without an additional license.|
|On-Sale 3.2% Malt Liquor|
|Issued to bonafide clubs, bowling centers, golf courses, including driving ranges, restaurants, and hotels where food is prepared and served for consumption on the premises only.|
|Off-Sale 3.2% Malt Liquor|
|Issued to general food stores and drug stores and permit the sale of 3.2 percent malt liquor at retail in the original package for consumption off the premises only.|
|Issued only to a hotel or restaurant, with facilities for serving not less than 50 guests at one time, to which an on-sale intoxicating license has been issued. Such license may permit the sale of liquor to be consumed on the premises during the hours allowed by state law in conjunction with the serving of food provided that the licensee is in conformance with the Minnesota Clean Indoor Air Act, M.S. § 144.411 et seq., and provided a public hearing is held prior to the issuance of the license.
No Sunday liquor license is needed for on-sale wine licenses.
|Temporary On-Sale 3.2% Malt Liquor|
|Issued to a club or charitable, religious, or nonprofit organization in existence for at least three years. The license may authorize the on-sale of 3.2 percent malt liquor for not more than three consecutive days, and may authorize on-sales on premises other than premises the licensee owns or permanently occupies. The license may provide that the licensee may contract for 3.2 percent malt liquor with the holder of a full-year on-sale liquor license issued by the city. The licenses are subject to the terms, including the license fee, normally imposed by the city. The licenses issued in this section are subject to all laws and ordinances governing the sale of liquor, including furnishing a form of proof of financial responsibility.|
|Temporary On-Sale Intoxicating|
|Issued to a club or charitable, religious, or nonprofit organization in existence for at least three years, or to a political committee registered under M.S. § 10A.14 a temporary license for the on-sale of intoxicating liquor in connection with a social event within the city sponsored by the licensee. The license may authorize the on-sale of intoxicating liquor for not more than four consecutive days, and may authorize on-sales on premises other than premises the licensee owns or permanently occupies. The license may provide that the licensee may contract for intoxicating liquor catering services with the holder of a full-year on-sale liquor license issued by the city. The licenses are subject to the terms, including license fee, imposed by the city. The licenses issued under this section are subject to all laws and ordinances governing the sale of intoxicating liquor except M.S. § 340A.409 and § 340A.504, subd. 3, paragraph (d), and the laws and ordinances which by their nature are not applicable. Temporary licenses must first be approved by the commissioner of public safety before they become valid. No more than three four-day, four three-day, or six two-day temporary licenses, in any combination not to exceed 12 days per year, may be issued for the sale of alcoholic beverages to any one organization or registered political committee, or for any one location, within a 12-month period. Not more than one temporary license may be issued to any one organization or registered political committee, or for any one location, within any 30-day period.|
|May be issued to clubs as provided in M.S. § 340A.404, subd. 1.|
|Consumption and Display Permits|
|Consumption and display permits shall not be issued in the city, except to establishments that have been issued such license on or prior to the effective date of Ordinance No. 299 (3/13/2000).|